The Henry Ford Museum

4 Aug

The Henry Ford Museum. Not A Movie Theater.

Well, I just got back from visiting relatives in Detroit. Since there’s really nothing to do there except look out for black people wandering into the immaculate Bewitched-esque white suburbs, we visited the Henry Ford Museum. (Detroit folks will like this one, everyone else now thinks I’m a racist.)

Now, whenever I visit a museum, I recognize immediately, on a biological level, that I’m a loser. People with real lives would rather do anything than pay to walk around indoors and look at old things. In an even fight, Museum visiting loses to sitting on your ass all day watching daytime TV. But this wasn’t an even fight. My cousins wanted to “do something”.

Resigned to doing something insane, I figured I’d try to make the best of it. I’d only look at the interesting exhibits (ughh, that word makes me cringe) and avoid reading at all costs. I finished the all-documents “With Liberty and Justice For All” section in about two minutes. And somehow, after that, the rest of the Museum became interesting. Actually, very interesting. It was probably the best Museum I’ve ever been to.

So, in keeping with the no reading spirit, I present to you the Henry Ford museum via pictures I took, along with information based on half-assed glances at signs and stuff I make up to fill in the gaps. (You can decide which is which):

Pimp mobile for mid-1800’s celebrities:

Pimped out Harvester/Train Engine

Mr. Burns’ Car:

Mr. Burns’ Chair:

Chair made entirely out of sticks and shit for Cornelius Vanderbuilt:

Wheels for driving the museum around:

Big Wheels

This Plane says Fokker:

I saw people urinating on this:

Marble Sculpture, Mid 1900's

Well, that’s all for now. Have a good Shabbos, and see you next week.

5 Responses to “The Henry Ford Museum”

  1. Gutman Braun August 4, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    When I hear of Detroit all I can think of RoboCop (which i didn’t even like when I was young and had a soft spot for mindless action films) and that Alex Foley was officially a Detroit cop in Beverly Hills (the Hills being a pretty big upgrade, even if that Lions Jacket was cool).

    Damn, (arguably) the greatest Running Back of all-time retired in his prime because he wouldn’t even take money to play there!

    But the quote that most defines my perspective on Detroit is from the all-time classic film, “Airplane!”:

    “It was a rough place – the seediest dive on the wharf. Populated with every reject and cutthroat from Bombay to Calcutta. It’s worse than Detroit.”

    • itchemeyer August 4, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

      haha! that’s perfect. I think we both have the same sources of intel for Detroit. I’m going to do a follow-up about my first foray into the city.

  2. Gutman Braun August 4, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    *Typo: That should be Axel Foley, not Alex

  3. frum single female August 5, 2011 at 1:25 am #

    cool photos.

    • itchemeyer August 5, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

      Thanks! I actually took pictures of a lot more stuff, just as cool. I think I’m going to have to do a follow up.

Leave a Reply

