Frum Thoughts

31 Aug

What does cholent mean?

It has come to my attention that some Baalei Teshuvah still feel embarrassed about their ignorance of Judaism when talking to FFB’s. Please! There’s no reason to be embarrassed about anything. I’m not asking you how lobster tastes to quiz you on the bad things you’ve done. I’m just trying to fantasize vicariously.

And stop feeling guilty over your thoughts. You’re just as frum as most of the FFB’s you meet. Here’s a few of the things I still wonder about after practicing the religion all my 20- odd years (and I paid attention in Yeshiva):

What exactly is an angel?
 
Can you drink water without washing negel vasser when you get up in the middle of the night?
 
The Rebbetzin’s daughter is looking pretty hot today.
 
Why do I have to go to shul so early?
 
Does the Rabbi believe in God?
 
Does God really interact with us how we think He does?
 
How come the Jews during times of the Prophets seem so non-Jewish?
 
Why can’t I have a chicken mozzarella sandwich now?
 
Are we going to really have to slaughter thousands of animals for karbanos when Moshiach comes?
 
Who is moshiach anyhow?
 
Wouldn’t it be crazy if it’s that dirty, weird, smelly guy who always sits in the back like in those Chassidishe stories?
 
Why do I always think about these things during shmoneh esrei?

So stop worrying, you’re not going to hell for thinking whatever you’re thinking. Or maybe you are. But at least you’ll see a lot of familiar faces there.

6 Responses to “Frum Thoughts”

  1. tesyaa August 31, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Great!

    • itchemeyer September 1, 2011 at 1:47 am #

      Thanks. Btw, do you write? I’d love a guest post from you…

  2. tesyaa September 1, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    I will give it some thought … I had a blog once, but it’s long gone.

    • itchemeyer September 2, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

      Well, if you have anything you want to write about, the forum’s always open.

  3. Gutman Braun September 1, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    Back when I was still in yeshiva they would have answered almost all of those questions with, “It depends,” “There’s a machlokes about that,” or “That’s the final straw – to go the Menahel’s office, NOW.”

    And as far as the Baalei Teshuvah among us, all I can say is: “RUN AWAY WHILE YOU STILL CAN!”

Leave a Reply

