Fairness: Mission Really Really Difficult

1 Sep

Ooh, lady justice. Looking FINE.

When people say they’re “progressive”, what they mean is they’d like to make changes in society to make it more fair. Equal rights for women, for gays, for black people, for children, for whoever. Personally, I like this idea. I think society can be a lot more fair. But I also think that people who don’t understand the science of life so well are baffled when they run into things that seem naturally unfair.

Men and women should have equal power. But why should the woman be getting screwed? Why doesn’t the man have to take it once in a while? (I’d bet money that there are couples out there right now having some kind of reverse sex to keep it fair.)

In my humble opinion, this all stems from a misunderstanding. Some people think that life was fair before it was messed up by greedy people. But unless you believe in the Garden Of Eden story- which I do, depending on my mood- life is a contest for survival. The strong survive and the weak die. We can try, for moral, religious, or other such reasons to try to make it better, but there are biological walls in place that can’t be avoided. (If you think I’m exaggerating here, you’ve obviously never been to prison. Ok, so I haven’t either, but I know people who have watched the show Oz, and they say it’s crazy in there.)

What’s my point? Well, here:  If it bothers you that your big fat kid is taking the other kids’ snacks, tell him to stop and hope he listens. And if it feels wrong to only have one penis in a relationship, go creative grocery shopping. But at the same time, don’t be too upset if things don’t go as planned. You’re fighting nature with your half a sociology degree Queens Community College. Take it easy.

2 Responses to “Fairness: Mission Really Really Difficult”

  1. Gutman Braun September 1, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    I love the title 🙂

Leave a Reply

