Big Mohammed’s House

3 Nov

comedian daily show john oliver

Click here to watch video:http://www.thedailyshow.com/watch/thu-may-5-2011/big-mohammed-s-house
 
Listen, you might think The Daily Show is slanted. You might think it’s a brainwashing under-30 Democratic vote producer. You might think that Jon Stewart has lost his comedic credibility by siding with a political party. But nobody’s interested in your nerdy rants about keeping comedy sacred, so either keep them to yourself, or write them as other people’s hypothetical thoughts. Also, The Daily Show employs the best talent in the business, like (Cmoh”r) Jon Oliver, so you have to watch the show sometimes either way. 

Side note: It’s probably halachically ok to let Muslims daven at shul, but depending on how they interpret the trinity, many Christians wouldn’t be allowed to. Everybody agree? Ahh, the awkward moment after learning uncomfortable new halachos. Can you feel it? Gevaldik!

2 Responses to “Big Mohammed’s House”

  1. Dan November 3, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    Meh. I wasn’t too amused. Probably because I agree with the guy they are making fun of, although, he could have made his point better.

    I wouldn’t allow a church or mosque to use space in my shul. Their religion is complete BS and false, and I won’t encourage it. And it violates the sanctity of my shul if I allow it.

    And I don’t think that makes me not like christians or even not like “christians who practice christianity.” I don’t like christianity.

    Notice, I also don’t like the democrat party, but I do like democrats, and some of my good friends are democrats, and I don’t generally associate with republicans over democrats- I don’t ask.

    • itchemeyer November 4, 2011 at 2:10 am #

      “And I don’t think that makes me not like christians or even not like “christians who practice christianity.”

      I think that was a cheap shot on his part. But I liked this clip (not lol, but cute), and in general, he’s really a funny guy. (Have you seen him on Community?)

      On the one hand, I hear what you’re saying about keeping Judaism sacred, on the other hand, I don’t like how different religions force people to stay separate- especially when it’s so easy to become friends with people who could otherwise end up hating you. I think that peace trumps uncomfortable feelings. Anyhow, they aren’t praying with you, they’re doing it in the multipurpose room next door so it’s not like someone will think you’re changing the religion or davening to Jesus or Muhammed. You’re just being nice.

Leave a Reply

