All Yekkis Are the Old Men I Knew As A Kid

9 Nov

yek german synogogue old

“AK” sent me this picture he took at a yekki shul he visited. “There were no other shul-like signs on the board. No no-cellphone picture with the no-smoking sign. This is top priority at the shul.”

I know there’s a rich history to German Judaism, and I’ve read some top-shelf R’ Shamshon R. Hirsch and R’ Breuer stuff, but to me, this picture epitomizes the word “Yekke”. I imagine they have a couple of guys, or kids, who come in late and have the chutzpou to alzo move zeir chairs! The head old man -balding but immaculately clipped white hair, pressed slacks belted over his belly button- is singing along to some horrible tune when his mouth suddenly twitches. Comink late to shuhl. Then the chair squeeeks. A vein explodes in his head. Ahhh! Zose idiots! I’m trying to daven! After davening, i vill make eh zign unt LAMENATE IT!, and zen finally people vill listen to ze rules! Ah, beautiful, beautiful rules. Mein leiber.

I haven’t done any studies, but I think it’s safe to say all Yekkes fit this exact description, agreed?

5 Responses to “All Yekkis Are the Old Men I Knew As A Kid”

  1. Chay Nobody November 9, 2011 at 1:31 am #

    lol! Love it.
    But isnt this at it’s base just anti-Yekke racism? lol… what is it about poking fun at “one of our own” that makes it so “PC”?
    And, of course, as usual, some of my best friends are Yekkes…

    • itchemeyer November 9, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

      Yeah, thank God I got that memo, or I’d have no material.

  2. Anonymous November 9, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    That is beautiful!
    Once again, Itche, you made my day.

  3. Gutman Braun November 9, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

    (I dunno why that posted as “anonymous,” but it was I who attempted the comment:)

    That is beautiful!
    Once again, Itche, you made my day.

Leave a Reply

