Going on Blog Hiatus

19 Dec

Goodbye!

I don’t know what happened, but I don’t really have anything more to write about. I feel empty. Not in a bad way. It feels more like I’ve taken a good soul dump. I’ve pretty much written about everything that’s been building up and bothering me, and I don’t feel the need to vent.

Maybe it’s because my goals were unrealistic. I think I’m trying to connect and commiserate with you all, to gain some camaraderie, not to feel so alone with my thoughts eating away at me. But there’s only so far you can feel connected with people who stay anonymous and out of reach of reality. And if I’m being totally honest, it was probably also to gain approval. It’s hard to really think deeply about some things that have always confused you, and figure out an answer, and not have anyone to share it with. I mean, it’s not like I can actually do anything with the answer, right? I’m not going to run away and join a neo-frum commune somewhere.

So I shared it online in the hopes of clearing things up for some other people out there. Maybe I thought I’d have an impact on the community that way. Maybe it has.

I hope it has. I hope some of you have at least gotten some comfort knowing that you’re not alone in thinking/feeling like you do, even if it hasn’t impacted anything you actually do.

So I think I’m going to slow down on the writing for now. I have a few half-formed ideas up the pipeline which might pop out sometime soon. But Baal Habos, Gutman Braun, Dan, Ben Kaye, Johnthesavage, Tesyaa, Rants, and everybody else, it was great schmoozing, and I’ll see you around Frumsatire, Dovbear, and all the rest. Ciao.

Oh yeah- if you have any pieces you still want me to post, I’m always happy to do so. And we’re getting 100 hits a day now, so if anybody has another idea for what to do with the blog, post a comment, and let’s discuss it. It seems like a waste to just throw it away.

I was actually thinking of setting up some kind of disenfranchised frum and ex-frum shadchan service. But I’m not sure about the logistics. How would that work exactly? The furthest I’ve gotten is people post profiles and people contact me (or whoever the behind the scenes guy would be) to match them up with profiles they find attractive. We’d have to have some kind of security login of course, so we couldn’t use a blog for this, but I don’t know how we’d spread the word, considering that the only reason we need a service is because everyone’s so hush-hush about this issue. This sounds like a job for Facebook. Anyone?

17 Responses to “Going on Blog Hiatus”

  1. Anonymous December 19, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    Sorry to hear this. Even though I don’t comment often, I still read your posts a lot and almost always find myself either laughing or nodding my head with the point your making. If I had to suggest anyway this blog could evolve I would definitely agree that there needs to be additional posters that could share the creative weight with you. To that end, I have a few ideas that I could write about and would share with everybody.

    Also, I’m a little hesitant about the whole frumster direction. Maybe it’s just me but I don’t really see that working out well.

    I really hope this blog can continue to work out. You’re a great writer.

    • johnthesavage01 December 19, 2011 at 7:38 am #

      Ah crap. That post was from me. Goddam login issues. lol

    • itchemeyer December 19, 2011 at 8:00 am #

      Thanks a lot.
      Yeah, that would be awesome. I always had that in mind, but I think the fact that the audience is (was?) small, we didn’t get too many participants. If a few of us started writing, like, one piece a week each, once every two weeks, once a month, whatever, and spread the word, we could really have a nice open happening forum.

  2. Gutman Braun December 19, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    Sonofabitch! This is so not cool – please say it ain’t so!
    I finally found a site that has a perfect semi-daily moment of entertainment and, as Maddon would say: BOOM, it goes belly up?!

    My entire week is shot now!

    (Deep down I know that this is a result of your strong reaction to Carrie Fisher’s character’s overdeveloped desire for revenge on Joliet Jake that was so easily put to rest with a smooch. I realize this was a weak spot in an otherwise completely believable story, but listen, she cant be Princess Lea all the time! Forgive me already, dammit!)

    • itchemeyer December 19, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

      lol You know, I can let certain things slide, but that…unforgivable.

  3. Dan December 19, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    Hmmm. Well, it’s been a nice run. See you around the internets.

  4. friendlyandgeeky December 20, 2011 at 5:00 am #

    No! Keep writing!

    Are you thinking “I feel so alone“?

  5. tesyaa December 20, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    I’ll miss your posts, but considering I am too lazy to blog myself, I can’t blame you for taking a break.

    • Anonymous December 21, 2011 at 12:55 am #

      Thanks. Though John said he might send me some pieces, and Gutman already sent me 2, so if you come aboard, and I keep writing, we can really blow this up. If we post 2-3 a week, that’s 2-3 a month each.

    • itchemeyer December 21, 2011 at 12:57 am #

      Oops. That was me.

  6. bendkaye December 25, 2011 at 3:43 am #

    Damn, I wish I kept commenting and stuff, or at least sending in some posts.
    Access to the internet might help more, ah well :/

    Keeping the site up?

    • itchemeyer December 25, 2011 at 10:47 am #

      Yeah. For the time being, I’m still going. I have a few more pieces to write and someone else (gutman braun )sent me a few good pieces too. If you have anything you want to post, though, now’s a good time in case we close up and this place becomes a ghost town.

      • bendkaye December 25, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

        Hmm… I do have a couple, although they seem pretty generic when I think about; why the rabbis annoy me, why someone who could be so smart could do something so stupid, basic stuff ๐Ÿ™‚

        But I refuse to let this place become a ghost town!

  7. Baal Habos December 25, 2011 at 8:04 am #

    It’s not the end of the world to stop blogging; I”ve done it SEVERAL times!!!! Overall, it’s not a bad thing to stop, It might mean you’re ready to move on to other worthless things such as I’ve done;) Or, if you’re lucky, you really got it off your chest and you can move on to something better. I enjoyed.

    • itchemeyer December 25, 2011 at 10:48 am #

      ๐Ÿ™‚ Ha! I’m hoping for the latter. glad you enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

