The Incredible Dreidel

26 Dec

For anyone else who liked Shmuel Kunda tapes, here’s a track from The Incredible Dreidel of Feitel Von Zeidel (song starts at 1:00 minute in). I used to listen to this tape as a kid and loved it.

Not to be too depressing, but I thought I should mention that I knew R’ Kunda, A”H, from Camp Na’arim, and he was a genuinely nice, funny person. I used to think of him as a jolly, fat 50 year old kid on a golf cart. I think that might be why kids like his tapes so much. He didn’t design a product for the child market. He created stuff that he actually found funny and enjoyable. He was a very talented, special man.

Update: I just looked online and found a video of Rabbi Kunda taken Jan 2011. Then I searched for him online and found out it was his WIFE who recently passed away, not him. Sorry about that. Till 120.

12 Responses to “The Incredible Dreidel”

  1. Baal Habos December 26, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    I loved that song; (And that was as an adult!) Sorry,I didn’t know he kicked the dreidel.

    • itchemeyer December 26, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

      Haha! Ehem…yeah, it’s sad.

  2. Gutman Braun December 26, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    Shmuel was indeed a special man, and Feitel Von Zeidel is one of my fonder chanukah memories (I admit that most of my chanukah memories are not-so-wonderful, so the competition there is kinda weak). I also remember that he made a booklet called “Big Shipiel” that I really enjoyed – I don’t know why I haven’t seen it since.

    • itchemeyer December 26, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

      i have a chanukah present for you:
      http://www.jewishusedbooks.com/prodview.asp?idProduct=23390

      • Gutman Braun December 26, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

        How ’bout that! Thanks, bro!
        It seems that, contrary to popular opinion, I DO gave friends lookin’ out for me (yes, that would be you).

    • bendkaye December 27, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

      I was raised sort of normal, this type of music/story songs was like spreading heresy in my house :0

      • itchemeyer December 28, 2011 at 8:11 am #

        Thats funny. it was the opposite way in my house.

        • bendkaye December 30, 2011 at 1:22 am #

          Damn, I try, but I cannot imagine living like that. Then again, I had no idea that stuff existed except for in “the movies” where you might see a chossid or something, until I went to yeshiva.

  3. Rivky February 20, 2012 at 8:36 am #

    Rabbi kunda was and still is one my favourites!
    Recently though, I came across this site shmuelkunda.com the prices are way cheaper than any other jewish online store.
    Does anyone know if they’re legit?
    I love just listening the free samples on their site but i’m just not going to give my cc number to anyone.
    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

    • itchemeyer February 20, 2012 at 9:54 am #

      Hey Rivky, I just checked out the site and it looks legit. They also have a paypal option which always makes me feel safer.

Leave a Reply

