Finding Science…Losing God.

2 Feb

BY: JohnTheSavage091

“Science without Religion is Lame, Religion without Science is Blind.”
–Albert Einstein.

I am going into the science field. Without sharing the unnecessary details, for the past few years I have been exposed to and absorbing ways and patterns of thinking that have drastically affected my outlook on the world around me. I can’t help it. Science is truly amazing. It could be learning about astronomy, the supposed extra dimensions of our universe and particle physics or heck, even yesterday for lunch I forgot the food halfway to my mouth as I sat struck by the amazingness of Planet Earth on HDTV (looooooooooooooooooooooove it!!) But jokes aside, there is a price to be paid for gaining this vantage point on life.

When you seek out the details of life’s inner working, you remove the mystery and magic that surrounds it. I can only compare it to a child’s trip through a haunted house. Send him through it without any prior knowledge and the boy will no doubt jump as the slightest shadow; see a terrifying monster where the darkness hides an amorphous blob of something vague. Yet take that same child in the daytime, equipped with a sufficient flashlight, explain to him every inch and corner and dark closet and instantly all the horror disappears.

I want a purpose in my life. Like old Al says, I want them both: Religion and Science. But how can I? When I look around us, I see that we’re just an infinitely miniscule, ultimately meaningless consequence of the universe. How can one see a God with a setting like that?

8 Responses to “Finding Science…Losing God.”

  1. Neural Outlet.. February 2, 2012 at 7:30 am #

    I’ve heard a lot of different theories where people try to derrive God/gods from science. I suppose the most plausable would be a God for a first clause, this God is the creator of the universe and it’s laws – but has to adhere to them too, so no intervening. Deism.

    An interesting take on deism is that we, and this entire universe, are the computational simulation of future generations of humans who are so technically advanced that they made us (virtually).

    I think I saw that theory on an episode of Through the Wormhole with Morgan Freeman.

    • johnthesavage01 February 2, 2012 at 9:56 am #

      I’m pretty sure I saw that exact episode. Lol. As much as Morgan Freeman tries to make it sound logical and plausible, that segment was the most retarded sounding thing I have ever seen on tv. I mean…. seriously? I’d sooner believe the ending of Men in Black where our universe is simply some marble for some freakishly huge alien species.

      And to your other point, yes I am aware of theories that try to put God and science together. There is so much we still don’t know, perhaps God is hidden somewhere inside of there?

      As Einstein said at a different time, “We still do not know one thousandth of one percent of what nature has revealed to us”

  2. em February 2, 2012 at 9:10 am #

    But is it really worth nursing a faith you’re conscious of needing to protect from outside threats? That kind of fearful get-that-science-textbook-away-from-me approach sounds like the defensiveness of people who KNOW that what they’re saying won’t hold water. Isn’t it worth sitting down and figuring out what you really do believe in, anyway? Personally: kudos on meeting the wonder of creation– all of it– head on.

    Anyway, for what it’s worth, your post sounds like the perfect setup to the introduction to Rambam’s Moreh.

    • johnthesavage01 February 2, 2012 at 9:59 am #

      If only it was that easy to come to a defining conclusion on the workings of the universe. lol. I feel as if I’ve just started down the path of a long road and already everything in my life is pressuring me to finish that journey asap.

      Also, what is the Rambam’s Moreh? Never heard of that particular book of his before….

      • em February 2, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

        The guide? i’m sure you have… http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Guide_for_the_Perplexed

        But it’s got that totally classic setup. It’s nice apologetics. If I remember correctly, he writes something in the introduction along the lines of “this book is for dudes who are good Jews but have started studying science, and now are confused because based on the way they’ve learned about Judaism, they feel like they have to choose between the two”.

  3. Dan February 2, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

    By “lame,” did he mean crippled, or did he mean like, lame.

  4. Dan February 3, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

    As far as your point though, I can’t really respond. I dunno nothin of science except that e=mc squared, and that you may or may not be able to go faster than the speed of light, but that there is a lag on internet connections from overseas because light goes too slow, and that the moon is not made of cheese, or at least not soft cheese.

    It sounds though like your point is that the vastness and complication of the world makes you feel small and insignificant, and you wonder why G-d would waste time with you. I don’t agree with that idea, but maybe that’s because I think I am big and significant, and the world is small and simple and made of hard cheese.

Leave a Reply

