Do Single Men Really Get Weirder As They Get Older?

11 Feb

This is a question for the ages. I’ve heard it a million times: Older single men are just weird. Older single women, not so much. I don’t know. I  mean, I definitely know weird older single guys, but I also know weird younger single guys. And weird older married guys.

No, older single guys have a special creepy, loner, anti-social weirdness about them.

I don’t know. I can see how being alone can cement a certain asocial personality into place, but I know plenty of younger guys who are the exact same way. Maybe it works like this: There are tons of single guys when everyone is younger. Certain guys have a social oddity that makes it harder for them to get married. Gradually everyone else is weeded out, and because of the ratios to other leftover single guys, bam, suddenly these guys seem like they’re all over the place, giving all single older guys a bad name.

Now, I don’t think of myself as weird. Maybe I’m too young. Maybe in a couple of years, I’ll start getting weird, and still think I’m normal. How will I know? Maybe I need to designate another person to let me know when I’ve turned, like in that classic R’ Nachman story with the wheat that I just realized nobody will get my reference to.

But maybe I won’t want to know. If I can’t help it, why make myself crazy? Hey, maybe you all can let me know. That way, I can dismiss you as random internet loons, and still feel like I’m setting up a safeguard to quiet down my paranoia.

6 Responses to “Do Single Men Really Get Weirder As They Get Older?”

  1. Dan February 11, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

    Am I weird?

    • itchemeyer February 11, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

      Not that I can tell…Are you old?

      • Dan February 12, 2012 at 1:49 am #

        Not young.

        • frum single female February 12, 2012 at 4:33 am #

          there are some older men that were always weird, even when they were young. there are other older single men who only got weird as they got older. it really depends. judging by your blog, you are still too young to be an older weird single man

          • Dan February 12, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

            This isn’t my blog. I’m the Dan of frumsatire infamy

            • itchemeyer February 13, 2012 at 12:53 am #

              I mentally place you at 25’ish. I don’t think that’s weird old yet. (I’m around there too.)

Leave a Reply

