The Accident, Part 1.

27 Mar

“Ah-Hahahaha!” The laughter just shot out of nowhere, and with it, all other sensation stopped. Time stopped. One second, I was driving my car, the next, everything around me froze. Not me, for some reason. I moved around in my seat, turned the steering wheel, slammed on the pedals again and again. Nothing. Nothing and laughter.

“Who- what’s going on? Who is that? C-come out here!”

“Ah-ha..” The laughter broke off. A still chuckling voice said, “Why don’t you come out here?”

Then, a hand melted in through the roof and pulled me out of the car by my collar. The ceiling fabric moved apart like dryer lint, the metal roof melted like wax. I stood on what remained of the roof and turned to face a short man in a double-breasted suit.

“A leprechaun?” I said without thinking.

“Yeah, basically”, the man said. “I thought you’d take me better that way. God, by the way.”

“I’m sorry?”

“I’m God. Hashem. You used to call me that. I liked that.”

“I’m sorry. I just- things didn’t work ou-“

“I know, no need to apologize. That’s how it goes. I’m just saying it felt nice, not trying to give you guilt. It’d just be awkward for both of us if you kept calling me that now.”

“Yeah. Um….Wow. I-I can’t believe it’s actually you. I don’t know what to say.

“I’m sure you’ll think of something, Shimmy. It’s ok if I call you that, right?”

“Yeah, God. Listen, I- hey, um…” I stopped and reached over to grab the small man in a suit into a hug. “It’s really good to see you.”

“Ah”, he said, hugging back. “Great to see you too.” He paused and then said softly, “We need to go now.”

I pulled back a little. “But I thought-…what’s all this for then? I asked you to save me and you did.”

“No…you killed yourself.

“No! I know exactly what I said.” I said, “If you’re really there, then here’s your chance to prove it.” I don’t mean to contradict you, but that’s exactly what I said. I thought it over and over in the car and then said it right before…”

“…before you drove into the guardrail.”

“Yes. I know what I did.”

“I’m not being mean. I’m just pointing out that that’s not belief. That’s giving up. If you really believed, you wouldn’t need proof.”

“So? So what?”

“Well, that’s not the way it works. There are rules to this world. I know you don’t understand that, but you will where we’re going.”

“But I- I spoke to you. I didn’t just ask anyone. I asked you. Tell me why it it doesn’t work that way.”

God looked around at the frozen scene around him, the frozen speeding car, the frozen trees blown by the frozen wind, the frozen gravel flying off the frozen spinning tires. “Well, it looks like we have some time”, he said, grinning. “Come on.”

3 Responses to “The Accident, Part 1.”

  1. bestbathroombooks March 28, 2012 at 1:48 am #

    I like it. You got me hanging. Bring on the next chapter.

    • itchemeyer March 28, 2012 at 2:58 am #

      ok, I just have to get my brain on board. Having some trouble finishing.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Accident, Part 2 « yeshivaforum - March 29, 2012

    […] Read part one here. He took my hand. It went dark, and suddenly, I could see my father as a kid, 7 or 8 years old. I recognized his face from a picture my grandmother kept. He was playing with a small toy in his room, when a man, my grandfather, walked in drunk. My father flinched. So did I. […]

Leave a Reply

