I Don’t Like The Tisha B’av Routine.

16 Jul

I wrote this a while ago but thought of it again this week when someone mentioned how they taught her about tisha bav in satmar girls camp. I still dont get anything out of tisha bav because of this.

yeshivaforum

I don’t like Eicha. I don’t like kinos. I don’t like listening to videotaped mussar speeches. Why not? Well, I want to throw out some intelligent sociological reason to make it seem like I do things because I’m smarter than the rest of the plebes, but I feel stupid lying anonymously to other anonymous people over the internet.

So it’s not because the language is archaic, or that I’m desensitized to graphic descriptions, or even that modern Jewish tragedies emotionally dwarf something that took place in antiquity. Those all sound nice and logical. But the real reason is because They made me do it. They forced me to do it when I didn’t want to and terrified me with horrible things that would happen if I didn’t.

Care about the Bais Hamikdash being destroyed! Care about us losing Yerushalaim 2000 years ago! Didn’t you just sing, “If I forget you…

View original post 336 more words

One Response to “I Don’t Like The Tisha B’av Routine.”

  1. For Real July 22, 2013 at 10:26 pm #

    Last year, we couldn’t take it and went to a movie in the afternoon.

    This year I frummed out and pointed out that we should be sad over this for pretty much the same reason Gutman said- IF Bayis 2 hadn’t been totaled, we would have had fewer restrictions, and people would just be judging others on how fat the cow they brought for a korban was. Then if they criticized your cow, you could have it sit on them and go “You thought my cow was a wimpy halfhearted cow, you jerk?” and that would be it.

Leave a Reply

